On this edition of my classic album review season were I look at my favourite albums in my CD collections. Today I’m going to review Linkin Park debut album ‘Hybrid Theory’.

220px-Linkin_park_hybrid_theory

 

 

 

 

 

Brief Intro about Album 

This October 2000’s release by Linkin Park is the band most successful album to date and this most fans favourite from the band, but it up their with my personal favourite album of all time.

It was nominated of best album of that year and is on the list ‘1001 Albums you must hear before you die’. It was released around the high of Nu Metal and of bands like Korn and Limp Bizkit and is one of them albums that stand out at that time.

Good things about the album 

The guitar stand out with the power and excitement you want from a guitar in any album. This is perfectly shown in opening two tracks Papercut and One Step Closer and power through the whole  album, and give you ringing in your ear after each track which I love.

The style clash in this album work so well, from Hip Hop to Rap to Nu Metal working prefect with harmony, not a lot of bands can put this off but they work perfectly like in songs In The End and The Place in My Head.

The call and responses that both Mike Shinoda and Chester Bennington do vocally in this album is amazing and with it going through the whole album like in songs Forgotten, A Place For My Head, In The End etc it happens in every song and Chester Bennington screams is music to my hears.

Bad About Album

I think as good as this album I think this is just a nitpick by me to find something wrong with an album but the structure of the songs a simpler in most of song and format is the same and maybe mix it up structure wise would have been nice.

My Top Three Songs

  1. One Step Closer
  2. In The End
  3. Forgotten

Final Thoughts (9/10)

I give this album 9 out of 10 and I forgot how good this album after listening to it for this review, the guitar are great, the vocal are great and the mix of hip hop and rap really makes the album stand out.

If you haven’t listen to it you really should and let me know what you think by leaving a comment below, as well as contacting me on the following links:

Email: StuartIrvine279@gmail.com

Twitter: @stuartirvine91

Facebook: www.facebook.com/Stuart-Irvine-Music-ProducerSongwriter

Written by Stuart Irvine (@stuartirvine91)

 

